Life Without WoW

After spending the better part of 2 weeks being entirely uncertain about what I wanted to play at any given point in time, yesterday I settled on a replay of the Mass Effect trilogy.

Everybody roll your eyes at the ending now cause I don’t want to hear it.

Anyway, it’s kind of a weird feeling spending so long not knowing what to play. Especially for me. I’ve basically been gaming non-stop since I was about 6… no, probably earlier even. I don’t remember when I started playing video games, but I legitimately don’t remember a time in my life without them. I think my brain has finally started trying to fill in the gap that WoW has left behind, even though it’s been almost 4 months or so since I decided to leave the game. After such a long time playing, and then a few months being away, finding myself without that crutch to fall back on has left me in an odd place mentally. I don’t mean like depressed or anything like that, I just mean i’m so used to it being there and now that it isn’t? It’s like I don’t know what to do sometimes.

And yet, in spite of all that, I don’t really miss the game. Being a month and change removed from the Gamescom announcement of Legion, I find myself nowhere near as hyped as I used to be. There are times in your lives where you have a weird kind of crystallizing moments of thought and clarity, and it’s possible that i’ve been going through one these last couple months, no matter how much I might’ve kicked and screamed against it. So for me, the last 4 months without WoW haven’t been overly dramatic or life-changing, but it has been… noticeable. I’m still the same person, still Chris or Achloryn, now i’m just Achloryn without WoW. And that’s alright. There’s a wonderful community of twitter people, my amazing friends from my old guild in WoW, and my lovely wife who helps me evolve a little bit every day. And that’s enough for me.

And now, to alleviate all the weird pontificating i’ve done, here’s Garrus dancing like an idiot:

tumblr_inline_mjrvde7vPS1qm065g

2 thoughts on “Life Without WoW

Leave a Reply

