Replayability – AKA #Blaugust Day 20

So it’s the 20th, and here I am, once again, staring at my computer screen and a blank blog page going “Bluughhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. What do words how write things bughuh?”

As soon as I figure it out, i’ll let you all know.

One of the reasons I replay games is because I like to make different choices regarding the storyline, and see how they change the outcome of the game, or how people react to my character after that point. Or rather, more accurately, that is the general idea of why I like to replay games. Sadly, I tend to have a difficult time making different choices. Like, when I play Dragon Age: Origins. I pretty much always save the Circle from annulment. Now, I DID annul them once… just for the achievement, but I also had a backup save that I could re-load after the achievement popped up, so I could continue on with the decision I really wanted. The same thing happened with the Elves and Werewolves. I had the Werewolves raze the elvish camp one time, for the achievement, and then I went back and reloaded from where I could do it how I normally want. (BTW, Zarithrian is kind of a dick).

I’ve had the same issue in the Mass Effect games. After playing through the trilogy 2 or 3 times, i’ve told myself i’m going to go back and do a renegade playthrough. Now, especially in the first ME game, the difference between a Renegade and Paragon is pretty simplistic. “I could either kill this kitten, or not kill this kitten.” It’s damn near that black and white, and no matter what I can’t convince myself to go and kill that (metaphorical) kitten. Even for the achievement. I’m such a softy.

So, as I go through and load up any old game i’ve played a dozen times or more, I instead look to different character playstyles to make the game fresh and interesting, because by and large I play the same big ol’ softy for storyline purposes every time. I think that’s one thing that’s kept me in Skyrim so long. The fact that every time I can play the exact same character who makes the exact same choices, but play him or her a little differently every time. Different race, different gender, different skills, different approach to combat… cause i’m damn sure gonna play the story the same way. It’s kind of a shame, cause it means I really DO miss out on certain elements of the story, but generally, i’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

