Wil Wheaton shouldn’t visit the WoW forums – AKA #Blaugust Day 16

So I came across this tweet earlier this afternoon, and it kind of set off a rant in my mind:

tweet

I have kinda struggled with whether or not I wanted to go down this road on this blog or not, but I guess, I will for lack of anything better to say this afternoon.

Don’t be a dick to developers.

Seriously. This shouldn’t have to be said, and yet, some people are such outrageous shitheels to the devs of WoW. Now don’t get me wrong, it’s not EXCLUSIVE to WoW by any means, but I think it’s fair to say that their fanbase is the most vocal pretty much all around, so of course all the shit smells much worse as well. Don’t misunderstand me though. I’m not jumping to the immediate defense of every dev ever. I don’t think they’re infallible, and I’m not trying to paint them as the victim or anything like that. I do, however, feel like they get an unnecessarily bad rap though. I get it though, folks. I’ve been outspoken and critical, and sometimes downright angry at the devs, but throwing vitriol their way all the time like so many fecal-flinging monkeys is NOT the way to make change happen the way you want it to. By all means, comment, express your outrage, but do so in a calm, rational manner. Explain WHY this is a bad decision. Give alternative solutions to the problem they’re pointing out. Sometimes a dev might respond to something snarkily and it comes across as dismissive. I get it. Everyone has a bad day. Feel free to call them out on it and tell them that it’s not appreciated, but at the same time don’t escalate it.

I guess, everything really boils down to what I said in bold. Or even less specific… Just don’t be a dick. I can’t believe how much of an issue this is, just… honestly.

Leave a Reply

