Blogging the Unexpected – AKA #Blaugust Day 13

A lot of times when I sit down to blog, I’ll just pick a randomly passing thought in my head, and then start expounding on it for a few hundred words and then voila! Blog post. The title may come earlier, if I have an idea about what exactly it is i’m trying to say, or the title may come after I’ve decided to be finished with the post, and look back over it’s theme. Making a title is pretty difficult for me a lot of times. In part, I think it’s because a title should be something snappy, to me. I think of myself as a pretty funny guy, so if my titles aren’t funny (except in certain cases where the content is pretty serious, like yesterday) then I consider it a bit of a failure on my part.

Sometimes this process doesn’t work, but here lately it’s gone pretty well for me. Considering I created this blog ON August 1st of this year, and have faithfully posted every day (IT’S BEEN EVERY DAY DAMMIT, SEE THERE’S A POST FOR EVERY DAY >.>) thus far, it’s been pretty well received. The Blaugust community has been absolutely wonderful in liking and reading and commenting on my posts, and I want to thank them all for that. I know back in the first day or two I said that I was mostly posting for myself, because I misssd the outlet, but that doesn’t mean by any stretch that it’s not fun to have readers and favorites and likes and interaction and shit. I love that people have made an effort to reach out to me. I also love that my most serious post (yesterday’s) has apparently drawn the most¬†comments i’ve had yet. (Admittedly a lot of it was back and forth with me and one person BUT IT STILL COUNTS DAMNIT.)

I guess when I created this blog a couple weeks back it was mostly an experiment. Partly, it was to see if I actually COULD churn out 31 blog posts in 31 days (and a not insignificant part of me is surprised that i’ve managed to keep it up for 2 weeks so far) or not. I wouldn’t have been (and still won’t be) upset with myself if I fail to do so, but I think making it this far has proved to me that i’m ABLE to. And on the plus side, I don’t think i’ve set any blog posts out that are absolute crap either, so hooray for that. What I wasn’t expecting, though, was to find a whole new complete set of strangers (well… with a few overlaps of course) who seem to give a shit, and who point and clap and cheer and pat on the back and all of that shit that you sometimes need to get through… just because of a silly blog I started on a lark. It’s hard to believe the month is almost half over, but whether I complete 31 posts in 31 days or not, this has been a fantastic experiment, and i’m extremely happy with myself that I did it.

Thanks for the continued support everyone.

Leave a Reply

