Adventures in smashing my head against a wall – AKA #Blaugust Day 10

So yesterday I missed a blog post. That’s alright, i’ll try to do another one this afternoon.  I spent a lot of yesterday and early this morning finishing off my Skyrim character for the contest. I need to now finish up the words and meat of the entry itself, but i’ve still got a couple weeks before the posting can begin. After I “finished” (it’s a relative term with games like Skyrim) my playthrough, I went and played Diablo 3 for a couple hours and got bored with it. Now, don’t get me wrong, I didn’t get bored with Diablo 3 itself, I got bored with levelling YET ANOTHER seasonal character. I’m only doing it for the transmog pieces you get, so it’s not like I plan on doing much of anything with him but that’s besides the point.

I feel like I should pause a little bit, in case you’re not familiar with how it works. In short, in D3 every character is kind of… linked together. They all share a stash (bank space) and they all use the same leveled up crafters. Any recipes you pick up are shared with all the characters. There are a few points of separation. If you run a Hardcore character, it will have a separate stash and crafters from a non-hardcore character. A seasonal character will also be separated (and hardcore seasonal yet another separation). The seasons last for a few months, and at the end of it, all seasonal characters, and everything they’ve earned, are rolled into their respective non-seasonal section (hardcore and softcore). Then a couple weeks later a new season starts, and everybody starts from scratch again, and has to start over.

Now back to the main thought. I get why Diablo 3 has the ladder/seasons/whatever you want to refer to them as set up the way they do. It’s only fair that people start on an even playing field when there’s a sort of “competition” (and I use the phrase loosely) involved. But at the same time, my desire to level a new character for each season has never been lower. I’ve spent a LOT of playing hours getting my non-season characters their gear and paragon levels and unlocking all the blacksmithing patterns and whatnot. I don’t want to have to do it again.

But those exclusive transmog sets are SO SHINY.

And I convince myself that maybe just levelling to 70 won’t be that bad.

And so… Screenshot002

4 thoughts on “Adventures in smashing my head against a wall – AKA #Blaugust Day 10

    • Yup! Season 3 ends sunday the 23rd, and starts again on friday the 28th. i’m guessing the patch for the season will be on the tuesday in between so things like the Kanai’s Cube and all the new shit can get implemented and the instant bugs that made it through PTR can be done before season start.

      Like

  1. I gave up on the seasonal for now. I think the transmog set looks like buttered ass. We’ll see what happens when this one is done. 😛

    Like

    • Well it may not be the best set ever, but i’ve already got the first 4 pieces so /shrug. Besides, S4 looks to be re-releasing the pieces given in S1. I COULD go back and try again in like S6 but that would mean starting over YET AGAIN. And just… ugh.

      Like

Leave a Reply

